A last minute discovery: Cook & Archies, Surry Hills

The best things always seem to be discovered at the end of a journey. As the saying goes; ‘save the best for last’ and Cook & Archies is certainly no exception to this.

During my last week in Sydney, I brought mother to this gem in Surry Hills on a break from packing for my adventure. Originally, I had a post-exam brunch date lined up at the venue but alas, a bout of food-poisoning had my dining partner out of action.


After a few disappointing coffees on returning to Sydney, mother loved her cup and I could not agree more. Their roast has definitely made it onto #mingsfavourites (:P)!

As per usual, mother and I avoided ‘meal-commitment’ and shared a mix of savoury and sweet dishes.


We decided upon the Porcini Mushroom Risotto with a side of Grilled Chicken. The generous portion of the side dish was unexpected but welcomed – definitely great value. In addition the risotto was full of flavor and the absence of risotto from mother’s life (…it’s hard to find a good one in Singapore*) was refilled!

 Since our introduction to Bills’ Ricotta Hotcakes, this mother/daughter team has been vulnerable to its presence on any menu. I loved this rendition! On a proceeding repeat, it was just as light, fluffy and bursting with ricotta (consistency is key!).

Note: ensure full usage of the syrup on the side. I’m not too sure what its components were in addition to the mandatory maple syrup but it was surely addictive!

This bustling joint is great if you need to return to hearty and familiar brunch foods. Not to discredit the inventiveness of Devon around the corner but Cook and Archies is definitely a café that provides comfort food for the soul. Topped off with attentive and friendly service, I wish I had paid them a visit sooner. I think my twice-in-one-week visits say it all!

**Any good risotto recommendations from local Singaporeans?!

Until next time!

Ming x

Cook & Archie's on Urbanspoon

One thought on “A last minute discovery: Cook & Archies, Surry Hills

Leave a Reply

